Malaysia: I Have A Dream!


We look at the world around us and we find intolerance, lack of freedom, inequality and strife in many places like Syria, Egypt, various countries in Africa and even Europe and US. The stronger nations get together to decide what is best for the weaker nations. This is wrong. No nation can impose their will on another sovereign nation. And no peoples can impose their will on weaker groups within a nation. Or is that really subscribed?

As a Malaysian, the 50th year of formation of the Federation of Malaysia is celebrated today as Malaysia Day for the 4th time as a nation. It is normally celebrated in Sabah and Sarawak only until 2010 when 16 September was accorded a public holiday status.

Setting aside all the grievances and disappointments seen in this beloved country, I can see Malaysia flourish in the coming years if my dreams come true.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when all Malaysians regardless of race and religion can walk hand-in-hand without any concerns, in true peace and harmony to lift up each other should one falls.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when all the poor and needy are helped without concern of their ethnic background or their faith being Malaysians of equal.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when Malaysians no longer tolerate corruption and wastage in our Government and that every civil servant knows that the boss is the people and not the political parties.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when there is no classification of race in our ID cards, when it is no longer important what ethnic group we belong to, when we can share and work together for the good of everybody without being asked what race are you.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when the Government is truly looking after the people in totality, not just those who voted for them and that they remember everybody pays their taxes regardless of the way they vote. It is the day when strategies, policies and programs are color blind, voter blind and solely based on needs and Malaysians are truly one.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when the people have utmost faith in the Police, MACC and Judiciary, when they are not afraid of making a report, filing a case, defending ourselves in law, that the rule of law is justly effected and equally applied to all Malaysians, rich or poor, regardless of their power and standing in the eyes of the public.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when the Accountant General’s report will shower glowing praises on every agency in the country, that they have tirelessly governed themselves well and provided the highest level of accountability and honesty.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when doing business with Government agencies have the utmost respect to their professionalism, honest and integrity, accountability and openness. That there is no hidden agenda, no WITFM mentality, only what’s in it for the people that matters.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when parents fight to send their children to local universities because they are world ranked and produces some of the brightest workers in the world.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when we do not tolerate intolerance of any groups who pick on religious and racial sentiments, that we are able to have dialogs and discourses in a friendly manner and to agree to disagree with wisdom and maturity without taking another to court.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when reading newspapers and watching TV is most exciting because of the investigative journalism reports and the level of integrity of truthfulness and factual basis, that nobody tolerates the manufacturing of lies and various untruths to spark strife and misdirection, especially those that intentionally do it.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when we can compete with the world’s best in more sports than women squash and to win them, to celebrate genuine world class standards and not rejoice in beating minnows.

I have a dream! I dream of the day when Malaysians believe that anyone of us can succeed if we work hard, smart and intelligently without the need of who we know but rather what we know.

I have a dream! I dream that all the things I dreamed about described above will happen in my lifetime and not some faraway destiny, that it will materialize and not be a satirical wish, that it is real and not a distant blurred vision.

God please make my dream come true. Happy Malaysia Day!

Leave a Reply

